Updating Free Tables via EF

Apr 30, 2013 at 10:03 PM
Is there a way in EF to manually define the primary key to a Fox25 dbf/cdx?

Up until now, I have been using ADO\ADO.NET and hardcoding all my calls and it's getting a bit tiresome.

My free tables have index tags that are "Unique" but without a DBC I realize VFPOLEDB has no way of determining and I'm relying on the underlying provider and rushmore.

So is there still a way of telling the EDMX how to do it's SQL Update\Inserts and Deletes? I've marked my field as an "Entity Key" - but still have warning 6002 in EDMX and not sure what am I missing?

Thanks again,
Mike
May 1, 2013 at 6:22 AM
I'm new to this but will try to answer:
First: the unique key is realy bad because it only stops dupplicate keys in the index-table. If you have 2 records with the key 1 you will end with 2 records in your dbf but only one entry in your index. I think you know this?!
Second: The EDMX-Model for your table is "defined" as readonly because it does not have a "primary key". This is done by adding the "DefiningQuery" part to the edmx file. To make your table writeable delete "DefiningQuery" entry and modify the "Key"-section.
Coordinator
May 1, 2013 at 2:12 PM
A Candidate index is used as the primary key for Free Tables when generating the Entity Framework model. If Fox25 supports this type of index and you don't mind changing your table structure then this is an option for you. Another option is to manually configuring the EDMX as mlandwehr suggested. I personally wouldn’t go this route because you end up having to spend time learning the EDMX xml so that you can re-do some of the work that the EF design wizard was supposed to do for you – which in my mind makes using the wizard, in this case, a waste of time.